An Alabama driver who was under the influence crashed into a brakes shop after he was unable to stop his car due to its brakes failing, according to multiple reports.
Police reported that Jaderric Freeman, a 21-year-old Montgomery, Alabama resident, was arrested by the police early on Aug. 10 after crashing into the Brakes 4 Less shop in Greenville, South Carolina, according to Fox News. Police reported that the shop was located on 2410 Laurens Road. Freeman, after losing control of his vehicle, crashed into the shop causing extensive damage to both the shop and the cars inside.
According to the picture provided by the Greenville Police Department Facebook Page, there was a great amount of damage sustained by the shop. The picture shows glass all over the ground with the front window completely broken out and more damage inside the shop. The car Freeman was driving ended up stopping in the middle of the shop.
Police reported that Freeman hit another car before crashing into the Brakes 4 Less store. According to the police report, the driver of the other car sustained injuries and was taken to a medical facility for treatment, but none of the injuries were life-threatening.
Police reported that Freeman was charged with driving under the influenced after the incident.
Alabama DUI Laws
According to Alabama law, a DUI is defined as a misdemeanor in the state. Charges vary based on repeated offenses. First convictions are also considered initial offenses if a person’s previous conviction was over 10 years ago.
For a first offense, the maximum jail time given to the offender would be one year. If the blood alcohol level of the driver is over .15%, the driver would mandatorily be required to serve an entire year in jail. However, the judge can use discretion as to appropriate sentencing.
The judge may find it more fitting to give the convicted driver a probation sentencing instead. Should the driver violate the terms of the probation sentence, that person may have to serve jail time as a result. All convicted drivers will also have to complete a substance abuse evaluation and follow all treatment steps required as a result of the evaluation findings.
In addition, once charged, the driver would have to pay a $600 to $2,100 fine.
The State Law Enforcement Agencies retain records of all DUI reports, and for a first offender, the convicted driver’s license would be given a 90-day suspension.
Teacher Arrested After Driving Drunk, Hits Another Vehicle
A Colorado middle school teacher was arrested after allegedly getting into a hit-and-run accident and driving under the influence of alcohol during school hours.
A Longmont middle school teacher was arrested Thursday after police say she hit a vehicle, left the scene of the crash and drove back to school while under the influence of alcohol. https://t.co/lHY85Ovul5 #Denver7
— Denver7 News (@DenverChannel) February 23, 2019
Officers said she was driving from her house to the middle school at 11:36 a.m.
Brady was arrested in the parking lot at the school.
Police said Brady’s eyes “were glossy and watery” and that her speech was “slow and distinct at times and other times it appeared to be slurred,” reported ABC 7. Officers said Brady told them she had a beer at her house before driving to the school but denied getting in a hit-and-run and said damage to her vehicle was pre-existing.
An officer asked Brady to perform sobriety testing and Brady had a difficult time performing them. When she tried to walk away, she was arrested.
NTD Staff Writer Zachary Stieber contributed to this article.