Jon Fosse, Norwegian Master of Spare Nordic Writing, Wins Nobel Prize in Literature

The Associated Press
By The Associated Press
October 5, 2023Europe
Jon Fosse, Norwegian Master of Spare Nordic Writing, Wins Nobel Prize in Literature
Norwegian author Jon Fosse speaks at the Frankfurt Book Fair, in Frankfurt, Germany, on Oct. 16, 2019. (Jens Kalaene/dpa via AP)

STOCKHOLM—Jon Fosse, a master of spare Nordic literature in a sprawling body of work ranging from plays to novels and children’s books, won the Nobel Prize in literature on Thursday for works that “give voice to the unsayable.”

Anders Olsson, chairman of the Nobel literature committee, said Mr. Fosse’s work is rooted “in the language and nature of his Norwegian background.”

“I am overwhelmed and grateful. I see this as an award to the literature that first and foremost aims to be literature, without other considerations,” Mr. Fosse, 64, said in a statement released by his publishing house, Samlaget.

One of his country’s most-performed dramatists, Mr. Fosse has written some 40 plays as well as novels, short stories, children’s books, poetry, and essays. The Swedish Academy, which awards the prize, said it was “for his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable.”

Mats Malm, permanent secretary of the academy, reached Mr. Fosse by telephone to inform him of the win. He said the writer was driving in the countryside and promised to drive home carefully.

Mr. Fosse is the fourth Norwegian writer to get the Nobel. Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson got it in 1903, Knut Hamsun was awarded it in 1920, and Sigrid Undset in 1928.

His work “A New Name: Septology VI-VII”—described by Mr. Olsson as Mr. Fosse’s “magnum opus”—was a finalist for the International Booker Prize in 2022.

The Nobel Prizes carry a cash award of 11 million Swedish kronor ($1 million) from a bequest left by their creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel. Winners also receive an 18-carat gold medal and diploma at the award ceremonies in December.

Last year, French author Annie Ernaux won the prize for what the prize-giving Swedish Academy called “the courage and clinical acuity” of books rooted in her small-town background in the Normandy region of northwest France.

ntd newsletter icon
Sign up for NTD Daily
What you need to know, summarized in one email.
Stay informed with accurate news you can trust.
By registering for the newsletter, you agree to the Privacy Policy.