California’s $20 Fast Food Minimum Wage Law Goes Into Effect as Gov. Newsom Adds Exemptions

A new law went into effect in California on April 1, requiring fast food restaurants with 60 or more locations to raise their minimum wage from $16 to $20 an hour—though with some exemptions, such as for bakeries.

California Gov. Gavin Newsom signed Assembly Bill 610 on March 25, which adds more exemptions to the law.

ntd newsletter icon
Sign up for NTD Daily
What you need to know, summarized in one email.
Stay informed with accurate news you can trust.
By registering for the newsletter, you agree to the Privacy Policy.