Reagan Institute’s First National Security Innovation Base Summit Discusses Technology Ecosystem of United States

Live Chat

The Ronald Reagan Institute holds the first annual National Security Innovation Base (NSIB) Summit of its National Security Innovation Base program from 8:45 a.m. ET on March 14.

At the summit, the Reagan Institute will launch the inaugural NSIB Report Card to measure the health, effectiveness, and resilience of the national security-innovation ecosystem of the United States and provide recommendations for improvement.


8:45 a.m. – 8:50 a.m. Welcome
• Ms. Rachel Hoff, Policy Director, Ronald Reagan Institute
8:50 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. Introductory Remarks
• Hon. Jim Talent, Former U.S. Senator, Missouri
9:00 a.m. – 9:20 a.m. Overview of the NSIB Report Card
• Ms. Rachel Hoff, Policy Director, Ronald Reagan Institute
• Mr. Eric Snelgrove, CEO of Revere Federal Strategies
9:20 a.m. – 10:10 a.m. Lessons from the NSIB Report Card
• Hon. Douglas Bush, U.S. Assistant Secretary of the Army for Acquisition, Logistics and Technology
• Mr. Sreenivas Ramaswamy, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the Secretary,
U.S. Department of Commerce
• Mr. Raj Shah, Managing Partner, Shield Capital
• Hon. Mac Thornberry, Former Chair of the House Armed Services Committee
• Mr. Dale Swartz, Partner, McKinsey, and Company
10:25 a.m. – 11:10 a.m. Improving Customer Clarity
• Hon. Eric Fanning, President, and CEO, Aerospace Industries Association
• Hon. Ellen Lord, Senior Fellow, Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory
• Rep. Rob Wittman, U.S. House of Representatives, Virginia’s 1st District
• Ms. Courtney Kube, Pentagon Correspondent, NBC News
11:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Pioneers in National Security Innovation
• Mr. Joe Laurienti, Founder and CEO of Ursa Major
• Mr. Eric Levesque, Co-Founder, and COO, of Strider
• Mr. Jake Loosararian, CEO and Co-Founder of Gecko Robotics
• Ms. Sharon Weinberger, National Security Editor, The Wall Street Journal
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. Rooftop Lunch
1:00 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. Keynote: A Conversation with The Honorable William LaPlante
• Mr. Roger I. Zakheim, Director, Ronald Reagan Institute
• Hon. William LaPlante, U.S. Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition
and Sustainment
• Ms. Morgan Brennan, Co-Anchor of “Closing Bell: Overtime,” CNBC
1:50 p.m. – 2:20 p.m. Featured Discussion: Renewing America’s Technological Leadership
• Dr. Morgan Dwyer, Chief Strategy Officer, CHIPS Program Office, U.S.
Department of Commerce
• Ms. Sara O’Rourke, Head of Operations and Chief of Staff, CHIPS
Investment Office, U.S. Department of Commerce
• Ms. Yuka Hayashi, Reporter, The Wall Street Journal
2:25 p.m. – 3:10 p.m. Accessing Innovation Capital
• Mr. Jonathan Burks, Commissioner, Commission on Planning,
Programming, Budgeting, and Execution of Reform
• Mr. Michael Madsen, Acting Director, Defense Innovation Unit
• Mr. Alex Moore, Partner, 8VC
• Mr. Marcus Weisgerber, Global Business Editor, Defense One
3:15 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Success Stories: Breaking Through Barriers
• Ms. Shannon Clark, Senior Vice President for Federal Research and
Development, Palantir Technologies
• Mr. Andrew Dimitruk, Chief Operations Officer, Shield AI
• Mr. Matthew Steckman, Chief Revenue Officer, Anduril
• Mr. Mark Sullivan, Senior Writer, Fast Company
4:10 p.m. – 4:50 p.m. Fireside Chat
• Sen. Mike Rounds, U.S. Senate, South Dakota
• Ms. Jennifer Griffin, Chief National Security Correspondent, Fox News

ntd newsletter icon
Sign up for NTD Daily
What you need to know, summarized in one email.
Stay informed with accurate news you can trust.
By registering for the newsletter, you agree to the Privacy Policy.