These Lawmakers Voted ‘No’ on Senate Resolution to Overturn DC Crime Law

Joseph Lord
By Joseph Lord
March 9, 2023Congress
These Lawmakers Voted ‘No’ on Senate Resolution to Overturn DC Crime Law
The U.S. Capitol building in Washington on Feb. 28, 2023. (Madalina Vasiliu/The Epoch Times)

The U.S. Senate on March 8 overwhelmingly approved a House-passed bill that would overturn a controversial District of Columbia crime law that critics have blasted as being soft on crime. The measure will next go to the desk of President Joe Biden, who’s said he wouldn’t veto the bill.

The chamber passed the measure in an 81–14 vote.

The resolution would block the Revised Criminal Code Act (RCC), a law passed by the D.C. Council that lessens penalties for some violent crimes, such as carjackings and home burglaries. The reform was introduced as the district is experiencing a record-breaking crime wave.

That law was initially vetoed by Washington Mayor Muriel Bowser, but the Council later overruled Bowser’s veto in a 12–1 vote.

Earlier this week, the D.C. Council member who introduced the revised criminal code said he plans to withdraw the measure amid the rising congressional backlash and after Biden said he wouldn’t veto the resolution if passed.

In a Democrat-controlled Senate that can rarely agree on much of anything, the resolution to overturn the crime law overwhelmingly passed the upper chamber, despite some Democrats’ efforts to paint the resolution as a kind of congressional colonialism.

Here are the 14 senators who voted against overturning the D.C. crime law.

Senators Who Voted Against the Resolution

Sen. Cory Booker (D-N.J.)
Sen. Benjamin Cardin (D-Md.)
Sen. Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.)
Sen. Dick Durbin (D-Ill.)
Sen. Maize Hirono (D-Hawaii)
Sen. Ed Markey (D-Mass.)
Sen. Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.)
Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.)
Sen. Jack Reed (D-R.I.)
Sen. Sanders (I-Vt.)
Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.)
Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.)
Sen. Peter Welch (D-Vt.)
Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.)

Present/No Vote

In addition to the “no” votes, five senators voted “present” or did not vote at all.

Sen. Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.) was the only senator to vote “present” on the measure.

The following four lawmakers did not cast a vote at all.

Sen. Tom Carper (D-Dela.)
Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.)
Sen. John Fetterman (D-Pa.)
Sen. James Risch (R-Idaho)

From The Epoch Times

ntd newsletter icon
Sign up for NTD Daily
What you need to know, summarized in one email.
Stay informed with accurate news you can trust.
By registering for the newsletter, you agree to the Privacy Policy.