W. A. Mozart: Concerto for piano and orchestra no 21 in C Major, K 467–Athens Philharmonia Orchestra

By Performance
March 7, 2023Music

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791): Concerto for piano and orchestra no. 21 in C major, K 467 – Athens Philharmonia Orchestra

Soloist: Nefeli Mousoura
Musical Director: Miltos Logiadis

I. Allegro 00:00
II. Andante 14:43
III. Allegro vivace assai 22:34

Concerto in C major no. 21, KV 467, written just a few days after its counterpart, known as the Concerto in D minor, no. 20, KV 466, with which it forms a “couplet.” Mozart completed the Concerto in C major no. 21 on March 9, 1785 in Vienna, and performed it for the first time one day later, on March 10, at a private concert organized by the composer. Despite its temporal relevance, however, the C major concerto is quite unique. At first glance, it is characterized by a marked simplicity, naïveté, harmony, and composure, without a clear representation of the personal details of its creator. However, a deeper dive will easily reveal the wealth of melodic ideas and harmonic inspirations, and confirm why this work has established itself among the composer’s most popular.

Benaki Museum event hall, Athens, Greece

Sound production: Apostolos Theodosiou
Directed by: Kostas Gerabinis
Director of photography: Sotiris Tzatzakis
Editing: Vangelis Michaelos
Video production director: Christina Tsouko

Athens Philharmonia Orchestra – https://www.youtube.com/@AthensPhilharmoniaOrchestra

ntd newsletter icon
Sign up for NTD Daily
What you need to know, summarized in one email.
Stay informed with accurate news you can trust.
By registering for the newsletter, you agree to the Privacy Policy.